Hehnly Notches 1st 600cc Win of Year; Rutherford Makes It 2 Straight in 270's
Written by Barry Angstadt   
Sunday, 25 August 2013 00:19


600cc Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Heath Hehnly, 2.Chris Gerhart, 3.Jered Hook, 4.Mike Rutherford, 5.Christopher Tracy, 6.Jack Conover, 7.Shaun Brandel, 8.Brent Ely, 9.Tyler Esh, 10.Ryan Hook, 11.Mark Yoder, 12.Travis Esh, 13.Ryan Morris, 14.Will Urkuski, 15.Brittany Brown, 16.Chris Panczner, 17.Rebecca LaMothe, 18.Zachary Light, 19.Mike Coen, 20.David Beiler.


270cc Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Mike Rutherford, 2.Nick Sweigart, 3.Zack Fouse, 4.Brian Sholley, 5.Bradley Brown, 6.Nate Weidman, 7.Kyle Spence, 8.Richie Hartman, 9.Eric Falini, 10.Mike Uhrich, 11.Dan Lane Jr., 12.Toby Blumenshine, 13.Ricky Sechrist Jr., 14.Corey Schmuck Jr., 15.Dave Grube, 16.Jesse Maurer, 17.Ken Miller, 18.Heath Hehnly, 19.Jason Swavely, 20.Billy Logeman, 21.Michael Binkley, 22.Jarid Kunkle, 23.Ronald Helmick, 24.Derek Miller. DNQ: Shaun Brandel, Kevin Kopp, Kory Shissler, Melvin Bainbridge, Jason Hehnly, Damon Bomgardner, Charles Hellinger, Dylan Binkley, Christi Sweigart, Hunter James.


125cc Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Richie Hartman, 2.Jesse Maurer, 3.Dave Grube, 4.Derek Ecenrode, 5.Kyle Hehnly, 6.Chase Gutshall, 7.Nate Weidman, 8.Dylan Adams, 9.Nick Sweigart, 10.Alexis Sheely, 11.Brie Weiler, 12.Zack Hollinger, 13.Matthew Donley, 14.Kory Merkey, 15.Brent Shearer, 16.Chip Geib, 17.James Wampole, 18.Walt Wampole. DNS: Dawson Guzik.


250cc Four-Stroke Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Kenny Miller III, 2.Eddie Nocera, 3.Donna Geib, 4.Devin Adams, 5.Lewis Kepple Jr., 6.Ronald Good, 7.Earl Eveland, 8.Steve Smith Sr., 9.Scott Renninger. DNS: Kim Minzer, Chip Geib.


Sportsman Micro-Sprint Feature, 25 laps: 1.Jason Swavely, 2.Sheena Logeman, 3.Bret Habecker, 4.Matt Abers, 5.Anthony Yerger, 6.Wesley Fasnacht, 7.Dave Kemp, 8.Tim Ziegler, 9.Brian Becker, 10.Bobby Shanaman, 11.Matt Peachey, 12.Jenna Heagy, 13.Jas Hehnly, 14.Kerry Lengle, 15.Curtis R. Miller. DNS: Ken Miller, Charles Hellinger.



*The 600cc victory was the first of the season for Heath Hehnly, and it came on his car owner's birthday. Hehnly, who drives for Sonny Cooke, also closed to within 10 points (unofficially; updated point standings are released on Tuesday of each week, after they are tabulated and double-checked for accuracy) of championship leader Tyler Esh, who placed ninth in Saturday's feature.

*The 600's ran a non-stop main event; the race went clean and green for all 25 laps. Hehnly completed the distance in 4 minutes, 52 seconds.

*Mike Rutherford's 270cc triumph was his third of the season and second in a row; it also solidified his hold on the number one position in the Mark Millwright & Rigging 270cc point chase. Billy Logeman, second in points, flipped during the main event and was credited with a 20th place finish.

*Richie Hartman's victory in the 125cc main was his third straight and fifth of the season. It also strengthened his grip on the 125cc point lead. Hartman is the defending champion of the division. He dedicated his win to wife Breann's grandmother, who passed away earlier in the day on Saturday.

*Kenny Miller III notched his first Micro-Sprint win - ever - when he romped to the checkered flag in the 25-lap feature for the 250cc Four-Stroke Micros on Saturday.

With just one caution period to slow the pace, Miller pulled away on the restart to register a 3.399-second victory over Eddie Nocera.

*The Sportsman triumph was the seventh of the year for Jason Swavely. The two-time champion of the Sportsman Class is currently atop the point standings once again, despite the fact that he missed two races.

*The five-feature program was wrapped up by 9:55 p.m. on Saturday.

*The complete race results press release will be distributed later in the day on Sunday, August 25.



Upcoming Events