Close Point Battles Highlight This Week's Season Finale
Wednesday, 15 September 2010 20:49
The tension level will be off the chart, and the edge-of-your-seat drama will be electrifying, as the season long championship battles are settled this Saturday at Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway.

Chris Gerhart leap-frogged from fourth to first just a few weeks ago in the hotly contested 600cc point standings. Gerhart carries a 48-point advantage into Saturday's season finale, with Ryan Wilson, second in the title chase, a mere 11 points in front of Ken Miller. Jamie Kostic occupies the fourth position, and he's just 64 behind Gerhart.
Tom Kohler, Tyler Esh, and Tyler Ross are locked in a tight battle for fifth in the standings; just 12 points separate the three wheel-twisters.
Most of the top 15 positions are up for grabs in Saturday's curtain-closing event.
The first step in this week's championship gauntlet is to qualify for the 25-lap feature; failure to do so would be catastrophic for Gerhart and any of the other drivers currently in the top 15 in points. Just ask Miller and Wilson, who sat first and second in points a few weeks ago and seemingly had only one another to fight for this year's championship. They weren't able to transfer through their respective heat races or the consolation, however, enabling Gerhart to vault into the point lead.

Richie Hartman has locked up his third consecutive 270cc point title at the Clyde. Hartman has an insurmountable cushion of 232 points over Jesse Maurer.
Jason Swavely is 62 points behind Maurer and only five tallies ahead of Nick Skias, so second through fourth in the final standings could change on Saturday.
Fifth place in the final 270cc point chase will also be debated this week, as Pete Skias trails Dave Grube by 19 markers, and Pete is just five points in front of Billy Logeman.

Last week, David Ravel saw his point lead dwindle to four over Jesse Maurer in the 125cc division. Third place Cody Drace made an early exit from last Saturday's main event, but Cody remains (mathmatically) in the hunt, facing a deficit of 72 points to leader Ravel.
The drivers in fourth through eighth positions in the point standings are separated by a scant 26 tallies, ensuring some intense competition for this week's season ending event.

The closest contest for the championship occurs in the 250cc Four-Stroke class, with Peter Michael holding a tenuous ten point advantage over Chip Geib...and Craig DeSantis is lurking in third - only 17 points behind Michael. The championship will be decided among those three, but several other spots among the top 15 are far from secure.

In the Sportsman class, all Ken Miller really has to do is qualify for the feature, and he'll clinch his second title in the Air-Cooled division.
Jason Swavely leads Donna Geib by 32 points in the battle for runner-up honors, with Dwayne Mathias another 32 behind Geib. Mathias is just 13 markers ahead of Brett Wanner, and Wanner is only six points in front of Jeff the second through sixth positions could be scrambled after Saturday's races.

Whew! The calculators will be smokin' on Saturday as they try to keep up with all of the scenarios that will determine the 2010 Lanco Point Champions, as well as many of the other top-15 drivers in each class. The top 15 from each division are recognized at the annual awards banquet, which is scheduled for November 20 at the Lancaster Host.

It's gonna be a good one...there's a lot on the line in the Clyde's season finale this Saturday! It'll be intensely entertaining, and it's your final opportunity of the year to come out and LIVE the excitement that is Lanco!

Weekly Winners

Upcoming Events